Government of Trinidad and Tobago
Facebook Twitter Youtube

You are here


PUBLIC ADVISORY #2 - Friday 29th December, 2017 – 6:30 p.m.

ODPM asks citizens to remain vigilant during continued inclement weather conditions for the next 24-48 hours

The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management (ODPM), as the lead coordinator of disaster management, remains in contact with all first responder agencies (the Municipal Corporations of the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government (MORDLG), TT Fire Service, TT Defence Force, TT Police Service, Emergency Support Functions of the National Emergency Operation Centre (NEOC) and Strategic Services Agency–Fusion Centre) to ensure immediate assistance can be rendered if called upon due to continued inclement weather conditions.

The MORDLG has activated all Municipal Corporations to assist the impacted corporations of the Tunapuna/Piarco, San Juan/Laventille, Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo, Penal/Debe, Siparia and Sangre Grande areas. They have also placed their national volunteer network on standby for impacted corporations, as water levels continue to rise.

The ODPM maintains consistent communication with the MORDLG’s Chief Disaster Coordinator and has activated its mechanism to render support if this situation escalates. All Emergency Support Functions of the National Emergency Operation Centre (NEOC) will remain on standby throughout the night, including Community-Based Environmental Protection and Enhancement Programme (CEPEP) to assist in clean-up operations. The MORDLG has reported to the ODPM that no evacuation is required at this time. However, they have reported and are advising of the following:

• Impassable Areas – El Carmen, Kelly Village, St. Helena and Madras Roadways are impassable at this time.
• Impacted Areas - Las Lomas, South of Welcome Road, Paul Trace-Sangre Grande, Gopaul Lands-Marabella, Mc Bean, Orange Field, Freeport Mission Road, Roopland Avenue-Corinth, Scale Road, Kent Street, Webb Street, Garth Road-Williamsville, Oropouche River Road, Biche, Mafeking Village,
Poui Trace-Barrackpore, M1 Tasker Road-Princes Town, Western Trace, St. Mary’s Village and La Ruffin Moruga.
• Landslides/landslips – North Coast Road, La Canoa Road, Cunjal Road and Third Company Village.

Further, as the inclement weather ensues the ODPM will like citizens to ensure they take the following steps:
1) After heavy rainfall, stay inside until water levels have subsided and it is safe to venture outside;
2) Do not walk/drive through flood waters, delay travel for at least two (2) hours if using routes impassable at this time;
3) Be cautious when walking/driving along hillsides or landslide-prone areas;
4) Persons in low lying areas should secure important documents and protect their property with sand bags;
5) Persons in flood prone areas should elevate appliances and furniture to higher levels;
6) Practice Electrical safety - In the event of flooding, turn off electrical power to your home or business;
7) Listen or look out for further updates on television, radio and social media;
8) Know your emergency contact numbers, specifically your Disaster Management Unit’s number (see attached);
9) Know your nearest shelter;
10) Activate your 72 hour plan and ensure you have enough food, water and medical supplies for at least three (3) days.

The ODPM continues to work closely with the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government to lend resources and other support as we monitor present weather conditions.
Issued by:
Public Information, Education and Community Outreach Unit
For further information, please Call:
ODPM’s Customer Call Centre 511/ TEMA’s Hotline 211


Regional Corporation (Disaster Management Units) Hotline Numbers:

Diego Martin Regional Corporation 800-DMRC (3672)
San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation 800-SLRC (7572)
Arima Borough Corporation 800-2ABC (2222)
Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation 800-TPRC (8272)
Port-of-Spain City Corporation 800-PSCC (7722)
Sangre Grande Regional Corporation 800-SGRC (7472)
Chaguanas Borough Corporation 800-DCBC (3222)
Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation 800-CTTC (2882)
Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation 800-4MRC (4672)
Princes Town Regional Corporation 800-PTRC (7872)
Point Fortin Borough Corporation 800-PFCB (7322)
San Fernando City Corporation 800-SCDU (7238)
Penal/Debe Regional Corporation 800-PDRC (7372)
Siparia Regional Corporation 800-4SRC (4772)

 Calendar     Hazard Maps         Emergency Contacts