Government of Trinidad and Tobago
Facebook Twitter Youtube

You are here


PUBLIC ADVISORY #1 - Sunday 04th March, 2018

Sunday 04th March, 2018 – 5:30 pm  
ODPM gives status update on affected areas due to inclement weather conditions
The Office of Disaster Preparedness and Management (ODPM), as the lead coordinator of disaster management, remains in contact with all first responder agencies (the Municipal Corporations of the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government (MORDLG), TT Fire Service, TT Defence Force, TT Police Service, Emergency Support Functions of the National Emergency Operation Centre (NEOC) and Strategic Services Agency–Fusion Centre) to ensure immediate assistance can be rendered if called upon due to continued inclement weather conditions.    The Trinidad and Tobago Meteorological Service (TTMS) has advised that inclement weather will continue to affect Trinidad and Tobago over the next 24 hours.  
Northern areas of Trinidad and to a lesser extent Tobago have been experiencing cloudy to overcast conditions with periods of rain and showers, some of which have been moderate to heavy in intensity with occasional thundershowers. This activity is attributed to a moist and unstable atmosphere associated with the presence of an induced low-level trough. 
Rainfall accumulations are expected to yield up to 60mm or even greater in some areas. The possibility of landslides/landslips is high and street/flash flooding is likely in areas of heavy or prolonged downpours. In the event of a thundershower, gusty winds in excess of 55 km/hr may be experienced and citizens should be on the alert for numerous lightning strikes. 
The Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government (MORDLG) has reported to the ODPM that they remain in full control of the situation and that no evacuation is required at this time. The ODPM is in consistent communication with the MORDLG’s Senior Disaster Management Coordinator and continues to activate its mechanism. All Emergency Support Functions of the NEOC remain on standby.    The MORDLG will provide further updates on passable and impassable roads, in accordance with their assessment teams on the field in impacted areas, please be guided accordingly. 
Reports to the ODPM indicates that the following areas are affected by flooding:   Port of Spain  Tunapuna, in the Pasea area  San Juan  Chaguanas  Lower Barrackpore  St. Augustine Circular Road  St. Helena  Bamboo #2 and #3  Multiple areas along the Eastern Main Road and Priority Bus Route from St Augustine to Port of Spain.   Eastbound Beetham Highway (Shoulder and Leftmost Lane)  Churchill Roosevelt Highway (Leftmost lanes from the South Main Road to Macoya).   Oropune Gardens, Piarco 
As the inclement weather continues river levels may continue to surpass their threshold. Citizens are asked to be vigilant and to continue observing their surroundings in order to preserve life and property.  
Citizens residing in flood-prone areas and the general public are advised of the following safety tips:    1) Do not walk/drive through flood waters; 2) Be cautious when walking/driving along hillsides or landslide-prone areas; 3) Persons in low lying areas should secure important documents and protect their property with sand bags; 4) Pay attention to regular updates on all media for any changes in the weather conditions; 5) Be prepared and maintain your Family Emergency Kit; 6) Know your nearest shelter; 7) Contact your respective Disaster Management Unit if impacted and in need of assistance (see attached). 
The ODPM continues to work closely with the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government to lend resources and other support as we keep monitoring present weather conditions..
ENDS Issued by:
Public Information, Education and Community Outreach Unit For further information, please Call: ODPM’s Customer Call Centre 511/ TEMA’s Hotline 211   
Regional Corporation (Disaster Management Unit)  Hotline Numbers 
Diego Martin Regional Corporation  800-DMRC (3672) 
San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation  800-SLRC (7572) 
Arima Borough Corporation  800-2ABC (2222) 
Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation  800-TPRC (8272) 
Port-of-Spain City Corporation  800-PSCC (7722) 
Sangre Grande Regional Corporation  800-SGRC (7472) 
Chaguanas Borough Corporation  800-DCBC (3222) 
Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation  800-CTTC (2882) 
Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation  800-4MRC (4672) 
Princes Town Regional Corporation  800-PTRC (7872) 
Point Fortin Borough Corporation  800-PFCB (7322) 
 San Fernando City Corporation  800-SCDU (7238) 
 Penal/Debe Regional Corporation  800-PDRC (7372) 
 Siparia Regional Corporation  800-4SRC (4772) 

 Calendar     Hazard Maps         Emergency Contacts